CareersportTop Careers

What I Know Now: Matthew Carter

Atlanta United Sales

name: Matthew Carter

age: 25

hometown: Montgomery, AL


I currently work in group sales for Atlanta United where I oversee the youth soccer side of things. I work with clubs all around the state of Georgia to host team nights at our games. Day to day, I call and help organize these outings with club directors and coaches. On game day, I am responsible for our fan experience packages such as the player high five tunnel and the national anthem kids. The best part about working in sports is how sports have the power to make some of the best lifelong memories. In terms of the workplace, I couldn’t ask for anything better. We all have a passion for sports or have played sports our entire lives so it does get competitive, but that aspect of it pushes us all to be the best that we can be. Getting to work for a team as special as Atlanta United and walk around on game day to see everyone coming together to support their favorite team is something I will never take for granted.

growing up:

My parents’ names are Linda and Billy Carter. My mother is a teacher at Auburn University and my father is a programmer for the Department of Public Health, Southern Miss. Since my mom was a teacher, education always came first growing up. There was a brief period of time where I tried teaching myself programming languages to possibly be a programmer like my dad one day, but the idea of a typical office job was one that I never wanted. My parents pushed me and my sister to be the best that we could when it came to our grades, but they always let us know that no matter what career path we pursued, they would support us. My parents always had a, “It’s your life, do what makes you happy,” mindset.


I graduated from Auburn University in 2019 with a major in Agricultural Business and Economics. I’m a third generation Auburn graduate, so Auburn was always my dream school to attend. It was my home away from home and still is. My college experience was anything but a straight line. I was accepted into Auburn as a Marine Biology major. During Camp War Eagle, I had already changed my major over to Fisheries and Aquaculture. While I loved this major and learning about the field, I never saw myself in that career long term. After talking with my advisors, I learned about Ag Business and decided that a business degree was something that would be more fitting for me. Going into my Junior year, I was blessed enough to receive a job offer to be a student manager for the Auburn Women’s Soccer team where I found my passion of working in sports.

parental impact:

One of the biggest things my parents taught me was the importance of hard work and taking things one day at a time. No matter what I was doing, I tried to give it my all and focus on what challenge was in front of me. There are countless people in my life that helped me get to where I am today. I’m thankful to my grandparents for constantly being there for me, my travel soccer coach for pushing me to be the best I could be, and my friends for always supporting and believing in me.

Best Advice You’ve Received:

“Do what makes you happy and give everything you do 100%.”

Top 5 favorite hobbies:

  1. Soccer
  2. Auburn
  3. Traveling
  4. Fishing
  5. Scuba Diving

Top Reviews

Video Widget